VRC Forum Index VRC Forums
Support, bug reports and general discussion related to the Virtual Radar Client for VATSIM.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

NOTE: These forums are now read-only. For new posts, please use the appropriate VATSIM forum.
Tower codes in SSA

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vSTARS User-to-User Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
marvin.palmer
Member


Joined: 16 Jan 2012
Posts: 21
Location: Colorado Springs, Co

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 6:55 pm    Post subject: Tower codes in SSA Reply with quote

Ross, I just noticed something that I'd like to point out.
In the Alaska Region the ICAO for Anchorage/Fairbanks are PANC/PAFA,
in the SSA, Anchorage is displayed correct, but Fairbanks shows as AFA.
examples below of my areas:
ANC
AED-should read EDF
AMR-should read MRI
AFA-should read FAI
AFB-should read FBK
AEI-should read EIL

Is there a way for me to change this?
_________________
-------------
Marvin Palmer
vZAN Facility Engineer
Rated: S3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you certain that the real STARS system shows the IATA code in the SSA? (Do any Alaskan region facilities use STARS?)
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
marvin.palmer
Member


Joined: 16 Jan 2012
Posts: 21
Location: Colorado Springs, Co

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I remember, A11 uses ARTS-III if that matters....
_________________
-------------
Marvin Palmer
vZAN Facility Engineer
Rated: S3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Author Message
marvin.palmer
Member


Joined: 16 Jan 2012
Posts: 21
Location: Colorado Springs, Co

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Tower codes in SSA Reply with quote

marvin.palmer wrote:
Is there a way for me to change this?

_________________
-------------
Marvin Palmer
vZAN Facility Engineer
Rated: S3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 5:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, there is no way for you to change it.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
marvin.palmer
Member


Joined: 16 Jan 2012
Posts: 21
Location: Colorado Springs, Co

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a bummer....thanks Ross
_________________
-------------
Marvin Palmer
vZAN Facility Engineer
Rated: S3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Author Message
SY
Member


Joined: 11 Mar 2007
Posts: 277

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A11 uses STARS. Kenai ATCT has a remote STARS TDW from A11 TRACON.
_________________
Alan Smiley
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2012 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SY, do you know if it uses the FAA airport identifier in the SSA?
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Tim Roden
Member


Joined: 14 Aug 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds to me like you should have in your airport.xml file
<Airport ID="PAFA" IATA="FAI" ...>
_________________
Tim Roden
ZFW FE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Author Message
dhawton
Member


Joined: 05 Apr 2011
Posts: 45
Location: Pensacola, FL

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ross wrote:
SY, do you know if it uses the FAA airport identifier in the SSA?


Ours are remote as well, and IATAs are used. However, with regards to facilities outside of the normal "K" codes I am not 100% sure but doubt the FAA would change behaviours like that.
_________________
Daniel Hawton
RW: KNPA Tower/Radar Controller/OJTI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Daniel, within the K coded airports, are there any where the IATA code is different from the ICAO code (minus the K of course)?
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
rahulp232
New member


Joined: 17 Jan 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KJKA - GUF?

Cheers!
Rahul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vSTARS User-to-User Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group