VRC Forum Index VRC Forums
Support, bug reports and general discussion related to the Virtual Radar Client for VATSIM.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

NOTE: These forums are now read-only. For new posts, please use the appropriate VATSIM forum.
Incorrect liveries show in-sim

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> User-to-User Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fariz
New member


Joined: 03 Feb 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 8:25 am    Post subject: Incorrect liveries show in-sim Reply with quote

Hi guys,

Yesterday I tried to use VMRGenerator to install matching rules for the IVAO MTL library. After some of the usual errors like the missing lines in the simobjects.cfg file I was able to get it through the matching rule testing of vPilot. To my excitement I tried starting up P3D (v3) and log into the VATSIM server. I viewed one of the other planes taxiing Schiphol, and this plane was carrying the wrong model. A KLM type B739 was matched with the KLM type B733 model. Also a KLM type B738 was matched with the same incorrect model.

Now I cannot assure you people that I didn't miss anything. Any way to get this fixed? Please let me know, 'cause it'd be much appreciated.


Fariz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A couple possibilities ... either the pilot of the KLM aircraft didn't put the right type code in when he connected, or you don't actually have a KLM 738 model that VMRGenerator found.

Note that the IVAO MTL library is not for use on VATSIM. (I actually thought VMRGenerator ignored the IVAO models when it generates rules, but maybe not.)
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Fariz
New member


Joined: 03 Feb 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ross wrote:
A couple possibilities ... either the pilot of the KLM aircraft didn't put the right type code in when he connected, or you don't actually have a KLM 738 model that VMRGenerator found.

Note that the IVAO MTL library is not for use on VATSIM. (I actually thought VMRGenerator ignored the IVAO models when it generates rules, but maybe not.)


Thanks for the reaction!

Alright, so first thing I did after you commented was check if the model was actually present. They seem to be in the directories D:\Games\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\SimObjects\IVAO_MTL\IVAO_B738 and D:\Games\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v3\SimObjects\IVAO_MTL\IVAO_B739.

Then I checked if it really was the wrong model that was selected. I looked up the registration code that was on the plane to verify and PH-BXA actually is a B738 that carries the retro livery. Seems VMRGen did all it had to do. Is there a way to replace the old retro colors with the new ones? I'd like to have those as they are more common on the KLM B738 airplanes.

I might also look into other traffic libraries in advance, as you stated that the MTL wasn't really supposed to be used with VATSIM. I chose this particular library as it looked decent enough and didn't induce loss of FPS in IVAO. Which one of the libraries listed in vPilot are the most framerate friendly and do not induce my unnecessary incontent, like what happened this time? I might acquire that library then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most users tend to favor World of AI.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Fariz
New member


Joined: 03 Feb 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't there any way to edit the matches? I might be able to switch it to another MTL model if I can. Do I edit the AI_liveries.txt and run VMRGenerator again?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure what you mean by "edit the matches" ... can you elaborate?
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
JHG0
Member


Joined: 22 Dec 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ross wrote:
I actually thought VMRGenerator ignored the IVAO models when it generates rules, but maybe not.

I'm pretty sure it does as of more recent versions (past two months or so)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> User-to-User Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group