VRC Forum Index VRC Forums
Support, bug reports and general discussion related to the Virtual Radar Client for VATSIM.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

NOTE: These forums are now read-only. For new posts, please use the appropriate VATSIM forum.
TDM & Radar Identifying

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vSTARS User-to-User Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JHG0
Member


Joined: 22 Dec 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:40 pm    Post subject: TDM & Radar Identifying Reply with quote

I just started using vSTARS and am a little bit confused on two things.

1) How can you tell if an aircraft is squawking Standby or Charlie in TDM?

2) What is the proper way to track an aircraft coming in from uncontrolled airspaces?

Thanks,
Josh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:48 pm    Post subject: Re: TDM & Radar Identifying Reply with quote

JHG0 wrote:
1) How can you tell if an aircraft is squawking Standby or Charlie in TDM?


There is no differentiation between standby and charlie for ground targets in TDM.

JHG0 wrote:
2) What is the proper way to track an aircraft coming in from uncontrolled airspaces?


Issue a squawk code, and once the target starts squawking that code, they'll tag up.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
JHG0
Member


Joined: 22 Dec 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Ross
So is there any possible way I could see if an aircraft is squawking standby and/or the wrong code in TDM (Slewing them)?

Also, how can you manually assign a squawk code to an aircraft on the ground? I tried the "(CALLSIGN) ####" method and it started tracking the aircraft as if it CSTed then became normal once I dropped the track on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JHG0 wrote:
So is there any possible way I could see if an aircraft is squawking standby and/or the wrong code in TDM (Slewing them)?


Nope.

JHG0 wrote:
Also, how can you manually assign a squawk code to an aircraft on the ground? I tried the "(CALLSIGN) ####" method and it started tracking the aircraft as if it CSTed then became normal once I dropped the track on it.


Any chance the aircraft was still under radar coverage? It shouldn't start track unless it is on radar.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
JHG0
Member


Joined: 22 Dec 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ross wrote:
Any chance the aircraft was still under radar coverage? It shouldn't start track unless it is on radar.


Nope, it seems like it was a glitch.

Another thing I noticed was glitched was the GI Text selection.

Enabling/Disabling GI Text 9 from the menu does nothing, but enabling/disabling GI Text 8 enables/disables what I set (with the command) as GI Text 9
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JHG0 wrote:
Ross wrote:
Any chance the aircraft was still under radar coverage? It shouldn't start track unless it is on radar.


Nope, it seems like it was a glitch.


I'm unable to reproduce this ... can you give me the exact steps?

JHG0 wrote:
Another thing I noticed was glitched was the GI Text selection.

Enabling/Disabling GI Text 9 from the menu does nothing, but enabling/disabling GI Text 8 enables/disables what I set (with the command) as GI Text 9


Wow ... someone actually uses the GI text AND uses the DCB submenu to toggle it on/off? Wink I'll put this on the bug list. Thanks.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
JHG0
Member


Joined: 22 Dec 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ross wrote:
I'm unable to reproduce this ... can you give me the exact steps?


I can't seem to remember exactly how I did it, but I do remember it had to do with assigning a squawk manually.

[quote="Ross]
JHG0 wrote:
Another thing I noticed was glitched was the GI Text selection.

Enabling/Disabling GI Text 9 from the menu does nothing, but enabling/disabling GI Text 8 enables/disables what I set (with the command) as GI Text 9


Wow ... someone actually uses the GI text AND uses the DCB submenu to toggle it on/off? Wink I'll put this on the bug list. Thanks.[/quote]
Haha, I use them for ILS/LOC Waypoint Refs

Is there a way in the scratchpad rules to set priority?
At TPA, you can either use a departure gate or SID (as in most places)
The ENDED6 Dep has the SZW Transition and SZW is also a departure gate out of TPA.

Right now, with my rules, if a pilot files ENDED6.SZW, it picks up SZW first and not ENDED (Scratchpad says SZW). If they file ENDED6 only, their scratchpad will say END. If they file SZW only, their scratchpad will say SZW. Is there any way around this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2014 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JHG0 wrote:
Right now, with my rules, if a pilot files ENDED6.SZW, it picks up SZW first and not ENDED (Scratchpad says SZW). If they file ENDED6 only, their scratchpad will say END. If they file SZW only, their scratchpad will say SZW. Is there any way around this?


The priority is based on the order the rules appear in the list within the facility editor. Use the up/down arrows to put the ENDED rule first.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
JHG0
Member


Joined: 22 Dec 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another thing on the GI Text, I don't think it saves with each profile save (assuming it is supposed to)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not supposed to ... the idea behind the GI text is to store information that changes from one session to the next such as MIT requirements, special events, etc.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
JHG0
Member


Joined: 22 Dec 2013
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thats what I figured
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've fixed the GI text issue, the fix will be in the next vSTARS release.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vSTARS User-to-User Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group