VRC Forum Index VRC Forums
Support, bug reports and general discussion related to the Virtual Radar Client for VATSIM.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

NOTE: These forums are now read-only. For new posts, please use the appropriate VATSIM forum.
CRDA HELP?!
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vSTARS User-to-User Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
HP2456
New member


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:19 pm    Post subject: CRDA HELP?! Reply with quote

Team,

Sorry for all my elementary questions. Is there a 'CRDA setup for Dummies'?? lol

I've read the Engineers guide but I have been racking my mind on how to find the info to input for KSLC. Is Heading Tolerance always going to be 90? How can I find or determin the Target and Image reference points for both Master and Slave? Same with Line reference?

Guess the other question is, is CRDA for airports that have converging rwy's only or can this work for parallel rwys? KSLC is all parallels except for one small rwy that neve gets used, but KOGD has 3 converging rwy's.

Thanks again for the help. Let me know if there are any questions for me.

Best,
_________________
Matt J
vZLC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Fri Jan 20, 2012 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Heading tolerance is whatever it needs to be to make sense for your runway setup. 90 is a good default.

The target and image reference points are normally right at the threshold for the runways, but they don't have to be.

CRDA is certainly usable for parallel runways as well as converging.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Xalorplex
Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried playing around with some of the settings when setting up the CRDA but I don't seem to be having much success. Even when trying to turn on the "qualification region" I'm getting "ILL FNCT". I am using:

<F7>NSLC16L<SPACE>B<ENTER>

In the CRDA list, I have:

1 SLC 16L/16R

Perhaps a specific example might help?

Here is a schematic of parallel runways at SLC (put together with info from airnav.com). The Lat and Long aren't labeled properly, but they are pointing to the end of the runways. Here are just a few of my questions:

1) When entering the RPC for 16L, would 16R be the slave runway? or the image?
2) Is the "image" just an offset to prevent having a ghost image overlapping the target?
3) If 16L is the master and 16R is the slave, would I have to create a separate RPC with 16R as the master?

Sorry, I guess this whole CRDA is just a bit confusing, but I think it's the last thing I have to get set up before I'm completely ready to roll!
_________________
Michael Morse
vZLC Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2012 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That PDF link just brings up a blank page for me.

You have the qual region command correct, but you probably don't have the RPC enabled yet. First do:

<MULTIFUNC>NSLC16L<ENTER>
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Xalorplex
Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent! I thought that <MULTIFUNC>N<ENTER> turned it on, but what you mentioned worked perfectly!

Also, the link seemed to work for me. Weird?
_________________
Michael Morse
vZLC Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The link is working for me now.

It's up to you which runway is the slave, and which is the master. I would suggest that the busier runway be the master. I say that because the whole idea of CRDA is that you will be adjusting traffic on the slave runway to fit in between the ghost targets generated from targets arriving on the master runway. So if your slave runway is the less busy, that means you have less aircraft to jockey into position between master runway ghosts.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Xalorplex
Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I feel like I'm making progress, but I'm still not getting any ghosting.

Here is a screenshot of my scope with an inbound aircraft

Here is a screenshot of my CRDA settings

I set the master and slave runways to have the same coords, but the images are shifted slightly to either side. I enabled the ghosting for 16L and also did <MULTIFUNC>N<SLEW TRACK> to enable ghosting for a single target. I'm still not getting anything. I thought I had it right, but apparently not. I feel like I'm so close! Any suggestions would be appreciated (as always!).
_________________
Michael Morse
vZLC Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What altitude and speed is that target at?
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Xalorplex
Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He was around 6,700 and around 180 KIAS, I believe. I thought I took a screenshot of his speed and alt but I couldn't find it.
_________________
Michael Morse
vZLC Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I see the issue ... enable display of the course line segments and it'll become very clear. Smile
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Xalorplex
Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, I have one line showing up on 16L and the other line is offset to the right. Should the ghost show up on the other line?
_________________
Michael Morse
vZLC Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The direction of the lines is wrong ... they should extend out into the approach path. Use the reciprocal of the runway heading.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Xalorplex
Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ross, when I use the reciprocal of the runway heading, this is what I get. It is showing the lines going in the opposite direction I want. The approach should be from the north. Is that what you meant?

I changed the target reference line direction and image reference line direction from 161 to 341. From the scope, it makes it seem as though the aircraft would be approaching from the south.
_________________
Michael Morse
vZLC Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nevermind, I was thinking the course line direction should be stated relative to the reference point, but that's not the case. You had the direction right to begin with.

I'm not sure why it's not working for you. Please export your facility file and put it somewhere I can download and test it.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Xalorplex
Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ross,

Here is what I have for SLC Approach

Thanks for taking a look at it. I appreciate your time and troubleshooting!

EDIT: Just so you know, this file has the CRDA line direction set back to 161 degrees.
_________________
Michael Morse
vZLC Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vSTARS User-to-User Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group