VRC Forum Index VRC Forums
Support, bug reports and general discussion related to the Virtual Radar Client for VATSIM.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

NOTE: These forums are now read-only. For new posts, please use the appropriate VATSIM forum.
Assigning a specific squawk code

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vSTARS User-to-User Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Xalorplex
Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 5:53 pm    Post subject: Assigning a specific squawk code Reply with quote

I was wondering if there was a possible way to assign a specific squawk code. While I realize there probably isn't any real-world reason for this, it may be handy on VATSIM (such as accidentally assigning a new squawk code by mistake).

I know that the abbreviated flight plan lets you specify a specific squawk, but I was wondering if there is a way to do that to a flight plan that is already filed. Or will entering the <callsign><space><squawk code><enter> work for a flight plan filed by the pilot?
_________________
Michael Morse
vZLC Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
aeakin
New member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Per the vSTARS command reference, you are able to type <F9><Callsign><SPACE><SQUAWK><ENTER> and it'll assign that aircraft that specific code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2012 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also in the command ref:

<FLTDATA>####<SLEW>
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Xalorplex
Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the <FLTDATA>####<SLEW> but all I got was "ILL TRK". I assume that would only work once the target is tracked? I was trying to assign a squawk for aircraft on the ground. I'll have to try entering the callsign first.

I was mostly asking since in VRC it was possible to simply type in the number once the flight plan window was open. I'll keep playing around and I'm sure I'll get the hang of it!
_________________
Michael Morse
vZLC Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, the slew method will only work on a target that is already associated. It would only be useful for assigning a new code in a duplicate code situation.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vSTARS User-to-User Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group