VRC Forum Index VRC Forums
Support, bug reports and general discussion related to the Virtual Radar Client for VATSIM.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

NOTE: These forums are now read-only. For new posts, please use the appropriate VATSIM forum.
Vpilot on a client machine

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vPilot Discussion and Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bradrcfii
New member


Joined: 09 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:26 pm    Post subject: Vpilot on a client machine Reply with quote

I have not been able to get vpilot to connect from a client machine. I receive "simulator connection failure" message. I made this work on FSX using FSINN so I am famliar with the xml, cfg and ini files that need to be set up. I am running simconnect version 10.0.61259.0on both the server and client.

I start the sim, run the traffic proxy program on the server that does connect to the sim but no luck connecting from the client. I assume you do not run Vpilot on the server, just the proxy program.

The following is my xml file located in the same file as the Prepard3d CFG file location. Does it look correct?

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="WINDOWS-1252"?>
-<SimBase.Document version="1,0" Type="SimConnect">
<Descr>SimConnect</Descr>
<Filename>SimConnect.xml</Filename>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
-<SimConnect.Comm>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Protocol>IPv4</Protocol>
<Scope>global</Scope>
<Address>10.0.0.30</Address>
<MaxClients>64</MaxClients>
<Port>500</Port>
<MaxRecvSize>4096</MaxRecvSize>
<DisableNagle>False</DisableNagle>
</SimConnect.Comm>
-<SimConnect.Comm>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Protocol>IPv4</Protocol>
<Scope>global</Scope>
<Address>10.0.0.30</Address>
<MaxClients>64</MaxClients>
<Port>500</Port>
<MaxRecvSize>4096</MaxRecvSize>
<DisableNagle>False</DisableNagle>
</SimConnect.Comm>
-<SimConnect.Comm>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Protocol>Auto</Protocol>
<Scope>global</Scope>
</SimConnect.Comm>
-<SimConnect.Comm>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Protocol>Auto</Protocol>
<Scope>local</Scope>
</SimConnect.Comm>
</SimBase.Document>

Thanks,

Brad
_________________
Brad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Wed Jan 27, 2016 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You've repeated the SimConnect.Comm sections ... not sure if that's causing your problem or not, but it's certainly redundant. I would remove the duplicates.

What does your SimConnect.cfg file on the client look like? And what folder is it in?
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
bradrcfii
New member


Joined: 09 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:04 am    Post subject: Pilot on client Reply with quote

Please look at this thread.

http://www.avsim.com/topic/482595-prepar3d-and-simconnect/page-2#entry3365058

The dropbox location has examples of all the files.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/fimci6peppmdk6l/AACOL0KncbWkIg2q16F4VBZKa?dl=0

Thanks,

Brad
_________________
Brad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks right except for the fact that the file name is SimConnect.cfg.cfg.txt. It should be SimConnect.cfg
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
bradrcfii
New member


Joined: 09 Dec 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:40 am    Post subject: Pilot on Client machine Reply with quote

The file name is correct on the server. The strange file name was the result of making a copy.

Is it OK to have vpilot installed on the server machine? I have it installed on both machines but I just run the traffic proxy on the server and Vpilot on the client. It will not connect from the client. (never mind. Just checked the manual. VPilot needed on both machines)

Does it matter the order the simconnect msi files are installed? I believe I have four now.

Thanks,
_________________
Brad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Author Message
Ross
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2005
Posts: 6818
Location: Vermont

PostPosted: Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You said "the filename is correct on the server" however SimConnect.cfg goes on the client.

SimConnect.cfg goes in either My Documents or in the vPilot install folder. (The same folder as vPilot.exe.)

The order you install the SimConnect MSI files shouldn't matter. Note that vPilot only needs one version.
_________________
Ross Carlson - Developer

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    VRC Forum Index -> vPilot Discussion and Support All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group